First Whole30 - Day 1!

mandeemus

I am going cravy crazy. I've been eating "Paleo" for about 3 months, but I didn't realize how addicted I am to sugar! I started backsliding on my Paleo diet a couple of weeks ago (hence the quotation marks). That's what made me decide to do the Whole30. I never used to crave sweets, but now, all I can think about is sugar. My goodness. Hopefully this will get easier?

Also, I need some help with breakfast. All I had this morning was a hard boiled egg (boiled to perfection btw - no gray yolk here!) and black coffee......it held me over until lunch, but I'm sure that's not how a Whole30 meal is supposed to look. For lunch I had 1 cup steamed broccoli, 1 cup of carrots, some sweet mini peppers, a handful of (raw) almonds/cashews/pistacchios, another hard boiled egg, a few raspberries and leftovers from last night (chicken, mushrooms, onions, garlic). Wow, I didn't realize how much food that was. It was delicious :) And filling!

Tonight may be difficult. I am going to the Pinterest Convention with my sister. Usually I'd splurge and get a Pumpkin Spice Latte to carry around with me! Also, I'm sure they won't have any food I can eat while I'm there and I won't have time to cook before I leave. I should have planned ahead, but we just decided to go within the last hour. HELP! What can I do in a crisis such as this? Starbucks is flirting with me from afar with promises of a sweet fall treat and a massive headache before bed :(

Welcome to the Whole30. You need to eat much much more for breakfast than a hard boiled egg. The meal template is at least a palm of protein (for eggs that is the number of whole eggs you can hold in your hand - at least 3 I would guess), 2-3 cups of veggies, and at least a serving of fat.  

Resist the starbucks latte. Order a black Americano or drip instead. I like to sprinkle mine with cinnamon and nutmeg.