chicken broth/beef broth

busymommy

It all depends on the ingredients. I've found compliant liquid chicken broth. I haven't found any compliant beef broth around me, even at Whole Foods - even the cleanest beef broth I've seen has honey. It's really easy to make your own if you roast a chicken or can get some beef soup bones. (If I have a recipe that calls for beef broth and don't have any compliant, I'll just use chicken broth. It's usually fine unless it's supposed to be a beef vegetable soup or something where the broth is the star.)

I'd be really surprised if you found compliant bouillon or powdered kinds.

Well, now I can't remember for sure (I've been making my own for a few years and always have a stockpile) - I thought it was Kitchen Basics, but the list on their web site includes honey. I know for sure it wasn't Swanson's or a store brand. It may have been Trader Joe's, but I can't find an ingredient list online for that one.

which brand chicken broth did you find?

Actually, it doesn't matter.  We have found that depending where you live, or what chains you shop at, many canned and boxed items may or may not be compliant.  You have to read every label every time.  We just did this with coconut milk a couple of weeks ago.  I mentioned a compliant brand that I use. In my version, it only has coconut milk and guar gum.  Someone else answered with the fact that that brand was not compliant and listed the ingredients he found in his.  Completely different.

So don't rely on brand names because someone else said it was compliant.  When they bought it, it might have been.  But you could have an entirely different version at your store.  Just read.