Third Time's a Charm?

nicaboosh

It feels strange posting in a public forum about my failed attempts at the Whole30.  I've done it twice before, but I always stray around week 3, and if I'm being honest, I cheat a little throughout. I get all gung-ho, go grocery shopping, throw away temptations, yet always manage to lose my way.  A mini-bio: I'm 28, female, in good health, around 150 lbs, 5'6, and a little too pudgy around the middle for my liking.  I'm a teacher, so while my job is pretty active (I never sit) I'm still tempted to run to the nearest bowl of pasta or glass of wine after every stressful day. And for you teachers out there, most days are stressful.  I have always been a severely emotional eater, as well as a night snacker and I eat larger portions than necessary (am I leptin resistant?!?!). I can always seem to find a rationalization for my little cheats.  I cheat with blue corn chips and hummus, rice, gluten-free pasta, cheese (oh it's only a little sprinkle of parm...), Lara bars, and Ezekiel english muffins.  So it's not like I'm gorging on Doritos and Hershey Kisses, but as we know, sugar is sugar is sugar.  The first time I read the Whole30 (I've read it more times than I've done it...), the chapter on an unhealthy psychological response completely resonated with me and I thought that simply that awareness would help get me through the detox process.  I'm not really sure what to do this third time around, because my fear is that it will just happen again.  What I do know, is that I'm tired of dealing with mood swings and energy slumps from my yo-yoing. I'm tired of being so well-versed and educated in the topic (I have a degree in physiology) yet unable to practice what I preach and what I know in my heart will cure my emotional dependency on food.  

Any words of encouragement would be appreciated.  I sort of started today, but tomorrow I plan to dedicate myself to the process again.  

Tomorrow's Agenda:

Breakfast: