Yoga help

MylaBean

I'm not sure if this has already been posted so sorry in advance. I just completed a Whole 30 last month...and it's been a bit of a struggle to get back on track. One thing I didn't do while I was on my Whole 30 was workout. I know I should of been but I was really wanting to pay attention to my food intake and prep work, things like that. Anyway I'm about to start another Whole 30 and I would like to take up Yoga. I would prefer to do it at home...better on the budget. I've never done Yoga before and I was hoping somone could recomend a good beginners DVD to me...that would be awesome. Thanks for listening.

Yoga is a tough one. It depends entirely on what your wanting. Ie, spiritual component vs athletic component vs. release component -Yin. I've tried many yoga classes and had to work hard to find the right "place" for myself. I'm saying this only because with yoga one size does not fit all.

Some things to be aware of: Most yoga flow moves at a very faster pace and beginners get frustrated because they are unsure of poses.

Next thing: if you've never done any poses with an instructor you'll have very little way of knowing if your form is correct. People can and have injured in Yoga as well.

But, having said all that here's what I'd recommend. Go to www.slobody.com

Slobody is the acronym for strengthen lengthen and open your body. Janine and Kirk (founders) give pointers on how to do poses correctly. You'll have to look for it on their website or contact them directly via email. They will respond and are delightful to work with. Tell them Alexis told you to inquire.

Once you get the basics down, go to www.yogadownload.com that website offers a huge variety of yoga classes. Membership is reasonable.

If all that is too complicated and you have On Demand on your TV, simply go there to the exercise section and they'll have offerings. But remember-get the "how to" first to be safe!