Dopey Challenge in Jan at Disney. Anyone else?! :)

cristy

Hi there!

I started Whole30 today with my husband and am in the midst of training for the Dopey Challenge at Disney in Jan. (anyone else here doing it?!) In the past I've fueled with gels and recovery drinks and want to knock those resources out of the picture completely.

What do you runners/walkers here recommend for fuel pre/during/after the run? I have never done a full marathon before and I'm really excited about it, especially knowing I'll be more than a month into this by then and my body should be well on it's way to using fat for fuel.

Thanks!

Cristy

Welcome, Cristy

I started running when I was following a more SAD-type diet, definitely running on sugar.  I have since switched to a paleo diet/ nearly Whole30.  I keep my carbs at a moderately low level (~80g of total carbs per day) and run about 3 days and 30 miles per week. (my goal is to be "half-marathon ready" all the time, even though I only run 2-3 races per year).  I usually don't fuel during my training/recreational runs.  However, you may need something during your runs while you transition to becoming more fat adapted.  My choice would be pitted dates.

I follow the philosophy of "train low; race high" regarding carbs.  3-4 days before a race I will load up to 150-200g of carbs per day on sweet potatoes, winter squash, parsnips, and some fruit.  I take pitted dates with me during races too.  I don't drink Gatorade.  I put some water in my bottle along with the juice of one lemon and lime and some sea salt to replenish.

My 'experiment' has been successful.  Between August 2012 and November 2013, I took 31 minutes off of my half marathon time.  I will be running my first marathon in May.  I start training in February.  I will definitely listen to my body and see if I need more carbs. Same Whole30-compliant sources of course.