First Whole30+

June14

My name is Jessica. I have always had a hard time keeping weight off, and irregular cycles. When I graduated high school in 2003 my weight started to get out of control quickly. I weigh heavy, carry a lot of muscle, and my happiest weight was 150. I met my now husband when I was 18 and we quickly moved in together and got complacent. I was eating awful food to save money and because it was fun. I started getting horrible boils on my face and all over my body, my cycle stopped all together and I blew up like a balloon. Looking back it is hard to see how I did not realize what was happening to me, and what the cause was. I was too busy working and enjoying my freedom.

In 2009 I started working out with a personal trainer. I was horribley out of shape and 240 lbs. After a year of lifting and cardio my body had changed, but I plateaued at 25 lbs lost. It was so depressing, and I thought I was eating really healthily! I was diagnosed PCOS, which I already knew, but tests showed no insulin resistance. Doctor told me to keep trying to lose weight, following the same protocol. I got depressed and went to a plastic surgeon, desperate for a change. He sent me to a doctor friend of his who prescribed hCG shots. LIFE CHANGING. The weight fell off, and though my cycle never returned, we were blessed with an amazing son, born March 2011, concieved during my 2nd round of hCG, at 182 lbs. Of course as much as I tried not to, I gained weight, and unlike most, breast feeding did not help me lose, but seemed to help me retain weight. I tried another round of hCG after weaning him at a year and could not maintain it. I would get nautious when I tried to eat the same foods over and over. Any progress I did make I shortly thereafter would destroy.