Kate's Whole 30- I'm a Newbie!

katiemcp

Here I am on day #3 and I am loving it! I weaned off of most grain based carbs and purposefully cut back on sugars as well in December before I discovered Whole 30. One week of research and a couple emails back and forth with my brother (he's been long term paleo and lost a ton of weight and is so healthy now! ), and I jumped right in January first!

I am breastfeeding my 7 month old and 2.5 year old. I know from experience my supply is better with carbs but I am miserable eating pasta and such with tummy issues that are fairly unpleasant. I'm hoping for the weight loss benefits but I am mostly looking for relief from the tummy issues and from my really terrible (red and raw and sore) dry skin. (:

Day 1 and 2 were pretty easy, I did accidentally buy some nuts roasted in non compliant oil, oh well my husband'll just have to eat them. I tend to be really really good about sticking just to "my" food. I spent NYE home with the kids while hubby was at work, so I took advantage of the time to prep all sorts of food for the week: I roasted sweet potatoes and spaghetti squash, marinated chicken thighs in garlic and herbs and citrus zest (yum), and grilled some grass fed flank for dinner I had marinating in garlic, ginger, cilantro, lime, and olive oil, yum. I served it with snap peas and all sorts of veg sautéed in coconut oil with sesame seeds. Who needs Chinese Food Tradition on New Years when they're getting ready for whole 30!? (I did kill a couple generous glasses of chardonnay though, haha). So I woke up on Day 1 ready to roll!

Day 3 Going well, too! Had some upset tummy issues today, blech, but I think I'm past it. No headaches! Woot!