Is it ever too late?

Ayla2010

• Moderators

I'm not an expert, but here's what I think -- even if you have done damage to your body, even if that damage can't be 100% corrected, as long as you're alive, eating better and taking better care of yourself can still be beneficial. 

For instance, take something like a stroke that may leave someone partially paralyzed. There's a good chance that nothing they do can completely fix that. However, if they decide to start eating better, they could still feel better, they could prevent future strokes, they could heal other, non-stroke-related problems. I think the same thing could apply to other diseases and illnesses, even if there is something that can't be made 100% whole again, that doesn't mean you wouldn't see some benefits.

For whatever it's worth, I do wonder about this sometimes. I've been overweight my whole life. At my heaviest, I weighed 337 lbs (I'm a 5'4" female, so that's more than twice what all the charts say I should weigh). I'm also a cancer survivor -- I had to undergo a hysterectomy, six rounds of chemo, and two different kinds of radiation, but I've been cancer free for more than five years now. I suspect there are things that no amount of clean eating will ever fix after all of that. But after completing my first Whole30 a few months ago, I know I feel better eating this way, so I'm going to keep at it, to the best of my ability. The other option would be to go back to eating the way I was before, when I was achy and depressed, and somehow that doesn't seem appealing.

• 10 months later...

Be brave enough to try again.

It's never too late.