Progesterone Cream??

anzadel

Well...Ive been wondering..

In the last year or so Ive had terrible pms and even starting to show signs of Perimenopause at 38 years old. My doc suggested that I was estrogen dominant and try progesterone cream. I have been using it for about 8 months now and I feel that it helps.  I've been debating if I should continue this cycle or not. 

Anyone else using this stuff? Part of me is scared to stop and worry about horrible pms etc. But I am curious to see what effect the whole30 is having without any added hormones...

Let your doctor know, but don't let their opinion necessarily stop you.  It isn't like you are stopping blood pressure medications or cancer therapy.

Diet and lifestyle is often what gets our hormones out of whack in the first place, so it makes sense that you would want to see if your changes are helping you in the area which you struggle.

My body went out of whack at 40.  I totally get what you are going through!  I have spent the past 8 years trying different things and generally feeling crappy except for when I am following a healthy diet with very limited sugar, higher protein and restricted grains.  The hard part for me has been sticking with it.

I took bioidentical progesterone briefly about 4 years ago and was unhappy with my experience.  I might try it again in the next few weeks but I'm really not convinced adding this is the way to go.   I am going to try to support my adrenal glands, get my cortisol rhythm back to normal and eat the way I described above for a few months to watch what happens with my laundry list of symptoms.

Did your doctor suggest you are estrogen dominant merely based on symptoms or with testing?  You might want to have your levels retested to make sure you don't have abnormally high levels of progesterone in your system now with possibly increased estrogen/testosterone to boot.  I think it is a good idea to take supplement holidays if they are not critical to one's health.