First Whole 30, 2 years Paleo

paleokat

I am on DAY 7 of my first W30! I don't know why it took me this long to see that I could log my Whole 30 here.  I always share what I've eaten with my sis every day (she is doing a Whole 30 too), but it makes me feel even more accountable logging it here.  I have been eating Paleo for almost 2 years now.  When not on a W30, I stick pretty closely to the Paleo diet - but have 90% dark chocolate daily, drink wine 2-3 times a week, eat grass-fed dairy occasionally, and have "treats" pretty regularly.  I decided it was time to clean it up and see what changes occur for me when doing a W30.  I have consistently had some skin issues, including rosacea and granuloma annulare.  Here's hoping my squeaky clean eating resolves some of those issues as well.

I generally get 7-8 hours of sleep per night, and exercise several times a week.  Currently, I am doing a 30 minute strength workout 3x per week, running (I have a 5k in March) 2x a week, and attending a group fitness cardio class (my favorite) 2x a week.  This has been a typical workout schedule for me for 3 years, give or take.

Soooo, I will start with yesterday's food and add on later for today.

M1: 3 egg scramble with spinach and mushrooms cooked in coconut oil

PWO: RX bar, a few cashews and coconut flakes

M2: 3 slices grass fed roast beef (cooked earlier in the week), veggies roasted in lard (homemade), sweet potato

Snack:  a few plantain chips with almond butter

M3: 2 small grass fed burgers, broccoli slaw with homemade mayo, zucchini slices dredged in egg & almond flour, and cooked in lard

This morning, I had 2 poached eggs, sweet potato fried in lard, and some left over zucchini slices.

I quit coffee 4 months ago, and drink tea daily - I vary the kind, but right now I'm on Yogi kombucha tea, with a tablespoon of coconut milk.

Looking forward to feedback, if anyone has any!

Things look good overall.