Rena's Whole 30

Rena

Day One.  I've seen plenty of Day 1's, but never a Day 30.  I'm 46 years old with 3 kids (14, 12, and 7).  I weigh more now than I ever did with any of my pregnancy's...... I've had many come-to-Jesus moments but none as powerful as the Sugar Beast within.  My most recent scare is some inflammatory processes that are nagging me.  Here's hoping that an online log will keep me honest and on-track:

Breakfast: leftovers of flank steak, brussel sprouts, beets

Lunch: deli chicken (sure hope there was no sugar!), salad bar veggies, olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Dinner: Jerk chicken, red cabbage with mayo/vinegar, sauteed vegetables, a spear of mango and a spear of pineapple

I've been experiementing with Paleo for about 2 years and own every Paleo cookbook known to man.  Right now I'm trying to just focus on Well Fed 1 and Well Fed 2.

I feel better without eggs, and nuts just aren't a good idea for me.

I walked hills for an hour today and will try to do that every day for the duration.

I slept a little over 6 hours last night.  This is another area that needs attention, perhaps even more than the food.  Speaking of which, gotta hit the hay.....

Lunch: deli chicken (sure hope there was no sugar!), salad bar veggies, olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Deli chicken is tricky to find compliant. Besides sugar, the big culprit you want to watch for is carrageenan. Is there a way you can check the ingredients of what you ate?

Chris, thank you.  I called Central Market today regarding the deli chicken, and we're good.  There were only 5 ingredients, all spices that I have on my own shelves.  Whew.

Wow, I ate a lot today.  Three meals and two snacks:

Middle-of-the-night snack because I woke up hungry t 2:00 a.m.: red cabbage dressed with mayo and vinegar, 1 1/2 oz jerk chicken, couple bites of pineapple............. thought I had kicked this overnight habit!  Last night's dinner had plenty of volume.  Must have been a fluke.