protein shakes [serious info inside]

Rhaegar

I'm currently studying my Bachelors in Exercise & Sport Science, and working full-time as a Chef. So my time is quite stretched.

When I finish training I generally have to dash off to work, which doesn't leave much time for me to ingest protein in the optimal time-frame of protein synthesis (3hrs optimal - 24hr heightened protein synthesis). So gulping down a protein shake is the easiest, and only, way for me to get a high protein serving for my body.

How detrimental would having 3 protein shakes a week during the Whole30 be? So essentially, 12 whey-based protein shakes?

Basically this: if you are having whey protein shakes*, you are not doing a whole30. period.

It takes some getting used to, but once you do, it does not take any more time or effort to have tuna or roasted chicken breast or whatever ready to eat right after your workout. Part of the whole30 is getting out of the mindset of whatever you have always done. It takes planning but it is worth it.

*vegetarians have whey protein as an option--their set of whole30 rules is a totally different ballgame.

Basically this: if you are having whey protein shakes*, you are not doing a whole30. period.

It takes some getting used to, but once you do, it does not take any more time or effort to have tuna or roasted chicken breast or whatever ready to eat right after your workout. Part of the whole30 is getting out of the mindset of whatever you have always done. It takes planning but it is worth it.

*vegetarians have whey protein as an option--their set of whole30 rules is a totally different ballgame.

Thanks for your input.

Ok... so in layman's terms now.  Are you saying you don't have time to sit down and eat a meal?