My first Whole 30

springbound

Well, here goes day 2.

I'm new to this whole thing.  I'm a post-op wls patient.  I lost 140 pounds over the past couple of years.  I'm still about 20 pounds from my personal goal and I hate how much crap I was eating (though in much smaller quantities) on the SAD, so here I am.  My wife is jumping into this as well and has been very supportive.

I started yesterday, but I am planning on going through March 19 to accommodate a reset for an event where Whole 30 compliant food will be hard to find and in which I want to be able to participate fully.  It's a chili cook off and we're going out of town for it and meeting up with a bunch of friends, and I'm really looking forward to it.  I just didn't want to wait until February 16 to start Day 1 because I keep putting this off for one reason or another. 

Yesterday went okay, but I've got a wicked headache and had some kitchen fail last night so I was pretty down about that.  Also, I didn't realize how many soft foods I normally eat. Some of these foods are going down a bit harder than is comfortable (the joys of a post surgery pouch!), so my stomach isn't feeling the best. 

Breakfast:  compliant chicken sausages with some mashed sweet potato, brussell sprouts, peppers and onions cooked in coconut oil.  Coffee with coconut cream.

Snack:  ½ banana with sunbutter. 

Lunch:  Spaghetti squash with an ad hoc chili with ground beef, salsa, and sautéed veggies.

Dinner:  ????  Something using ground beef because I have a lot of that to use up.  Something asianish would make the wife happy, so I will figure something out.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I ended up making nom nom paleo's asian meatballs.  They were great, though I think I used a bit too much fish sauce.  Totally yummy though, so I'll be making those again with some adjustments.