Newbie who has never cooked need advice!

davebo99

Hi, I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction of some simple easy meals. There are masses of paleo recipes but I was after some simple basic ones to get me started on the whole 30. I know there are some in the book so shall I just follow these? What did you make when you first started out?

Many Thanks

I'm a rather experienced cook but I'd recommend something like curry in the slow cooker--chicken or shrimp, maybe 2 tbsp curry per pound of meat,,1- 2 cans coconut milk, assorted veg (onion, broccoli, carrots,cauliflower), salt and pepper. Curry isn't much of a science ...it's more to taste. You can find a ton of recipes for it if you want a more structured guide. I'd add red pepper flakes for heat.

Grilled or pan seared steak or fish with veggies sautéed in coconut oil is simple.

Egg scrambles are easy-eggs, meat, any veggies

Ground meat with chili powder, paprika, salt, pepper, garlic,onion, and cilantro served with lime us a nice, easy stand in for taco meat. You can eat it in lettuce leaves or on a salad topped with avocado and salsa.

Get a few paleo cookbooks (Well Fed and Well Fed 2), Primal Blue print etc etc.

My biggest piece of advice is follow the recipe exactly until you get a feel for tweaking recipes.  Every time I've failed when cooking, I can trace it back to thinking an ingredient or step isn't necessary.  Or I missed a step.  So when starting out, try to follow the recipe exactly and you'll have good success.  When done, write comments in your cook  book about possible tweaks for the next time you cook it.....like 'cut salt in half, add twice amount of cayenne for more heat'....etc etc.