Making Homemade Mayo

Jena

I've never done this before and am concerned about it being a raw egg.

Doe the lemon juice used "cook" the egg?

Can it be made with other oils besides olive? I only have coconut and macadamia nut oil right now, would these work okay?

Thanks for any assistance.

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Homemade mayo is the best! And yes you're right, the lemon keeps the egg safe. The mayo is good for about as long as your eggs are so I sometimes date my jar with my egg's expiration date when I make it but it usually doesn't last that long because I eat it so quickly. You can make the mayo with different types of oil. I used to use light flavored olive oil but have switched to primarily macadamia nut and avocado oils. Each oil has it's own distinct taste in the mayo so try them and see which you like. Also I often mix my mayo with chipotle powder for dips or things like garlic and dill for dressings which masks that taste quite a bit. If you use olive, make sure it's the light tasting type of olive oil as regular dark green olive oil makes for a very heavy taste and it's not very good.

Also...most instructions will mention to be sure all your ingredients are at room temperature and to take your time to make sure the oil and egg emulsify correctly. The secret to making flawlessly perfect mayo without worrying about ingredient temperatures is to use a hand/stick blender so if you have one use that. It makes the mayo in about 30 seconds and it's perfect every time! Let us know how it turns out.

Well, I made some with the macadamia nut oil I had. I must have misunderstood about the hand blender because the first time I dumped everything into the cup and started blending. It never got thick. So, I tried again and drizzled the oil in and it did get thick. It doesn't look or taste like any mayo I've ever used which is probablly a good thing. But in any case the hand blender worked good. Thanks for the tips.