kjd1978

I'm a vegetarian cooking instructor who must cook grains and beans...

So, I'm BRAND SPANKIN NEW to the Whole30. (3 Days in!) Personally, socially, morally, I have gotten past all issues I might have originally had with the Whole30. I was a vegetarian for 3 years and started eating meat when I began this Whole30 experiment. And I already can feel my energy improving! I do have one problem, though.

I am a vegetarian cooking instructor and chef. I believe I'm doing mainly really good things by helping people how to eat and cook their vegetables but I also have an issue because so much of the content of my classes in the past have included beans and grains. In fact, most people will expect that I use such things during my classes. I will have to try these dishes before I serve them to my students. There's no way around that -- it's  just being a responsible chef and teacher to try the food before you serve it. HOWEVER, I know this will mean I will break my Whole 30 probably a few times a week. I will try to cook and serve as many Whole30 appropriate dishes as I can during this time for my students and customers. Is there a forum for vegetarian Whole30 dishes besides JUST salads? Also, I'm not completely wrecking my Whole30 by having to try small bites of dishes with legumes and grains, am I? I tend to think I am not, and that it's best to do the Whole30 the best I can anyway (eating 3 square meals a day that are STRICTLY Whole30) and not beat myself up to much about having to "cheat" because of my job.

Thoughts, inspiration, etc?

I would say, yes, you are "wrecking" the Whole30 but does it matter?   That all depends on your goal.  If you are searching for potential problematic foods then you would need to stay 100% compliant.