Low body fat, Whole30, and athletic perfomance

amymorgan31

I'm on Day 14 of the Whole30.  I'm doing it with my nutrition group as a means of supporting them and as a way to further experiment with foods and my body.  It hasn't been a huge dietary change for me overall, just had to eliminate some dairy, peanut butter, and occasional glass of wine.  I was already at a low body fat when I started and I've lost more...down to 15.5%.  This week I have noticed that my athletic performance has literally gone in the toilet!  I'm an avid CrossFitter and workout 4-5 times a week.  I literally feel like I've never worked out before.  Very rapid decrease in performance and, quite honestly, I'm feeling pretty depressed.  Totally different from when I started this 2 weeks ago.  Can anyone provide me with any advice regarding this?  Low body fat and the Whole30?  Thank you!! :)  

If you were relying on carbs for energy previously, it will take a little while for you to become fat adapted and start to perform better. It is worth it! Most people report that this has worked itself out by the second or third week. Make sure you are eating enough, including starchy carbs like sweet potato. Eat them any time EXCEPT right before the workout (before your workout have protein and fat only).

ps: How do you know you are down to 15.5% body fat? If you are measuring body fat by a body fat scale, be aware that those don't work very well at all, and any change you notice probably has more to do with hydration levels, etc. than actual change in body fat percentage. oh and if it is a scale, it isn't allowed during a whole30 anyway.  :)