Day 5 - I want to stuff my face!!!

HalesBS

Im new to Paleo and this is my first W30 - Im on day 5. Ive signed up for the daily emails and was hoping to notice some improvements. I'm sooooo tired and missing the crap food and struggling. I have been really strict but just want to stuff my face. It feels like this will never change! Hayley  :(

It gets better, truly!  The crap food is frequently loaded with simple carbs, so your body gets 'lazy' using easily converted fuel.  It has to work harder to use fats, so many people get the carb flu when converting.  In a few more days you should be fat-adapted and your system will more easily burn fat for energy.  Don't look for improvements too early.  Many of us ate junk for so long that it takes your body a while to begin to heal.  While some people start to feel different right away, many of us have taken until almost the end of a W30 to do so.  It depends on how much damage you have done, and your body's recuperative powers.

I've found for myself that two factors often play into the desire to stuff my face (I'm on day five, too, and am feeling it). First, so much of eating is actually habitual. Maybe you're used to topping off a meal with a treat but since you aren't eating treats, your body thinks you're not finished the meal. Things like that. The second thing I ran into for my last Whole30 is that it took my body a week or so to adjust to different meal sizes. I kept feeling very full at meals only to find myself hungry in  a couple of hours and wanting to snack. It seemed like eventually my body was able to eat more at the meals and go without between meals. 

And give yourself a few more days to feel better, especially if you're new to paleo and Whole30. Hang in there - it does get better!