Day 21- Still tired

This is my first time doing whole30. Not too sure how I feel about it yet. I'm not having a hard time sticking to the diet, I'm struggling with my appearance and energy levels. I haven't noticed any change in the way my clothes fit or my energy levels. I was also expecting my skin to start clearing up but that hasn't changed at all either. Feeling a little frustrated and discouraged and curious if anyone else is experiencing the same things!

• Moderators

Yep. This is my second Whole 30--did a Whole 47 a year ago--and now I'm on Day 45. Planning to do a W60. I'm just starting to feel some of the radical positive changes others speak of weeks earlier. Each of us is a unique snowflake, as they say, and some of us just take more time.

I know from experience that if you can lower your expectations and be patient you will enjoy the fruits of your labor and then some!

I'm sorry you're feeling discouraged, and I'm glad you reached out.

Tiredness can be a sign of a few things, including not getting enough sleep, not eating carb-dense vegetables daily, not staying sufficiently hydrated.

So the first things I would check on are: are you getting at 7-8 hours of sleep nightly, are you consuming at least one carb-dense vegetable daily, and are you drinking at least half your body weight in ounces, daily?

To get more specific feedback on possible tweaks, post 2-3 days worth of your food log.

For the skin and the energy, I feel your pain. I'm on day 39 of an my first W30, which I completed and decided to extend. I have not felt the "tiger's blood" energy described in the program where I wake up raring to go and dominate all day. There have been some days that I've felt steady energy all day and those have been rewarding. But there have also been a lot of days where I never fully wake up or I hit the afternoon brick wall, hard.