Spaghetti Squash

HowToBeCrunchy

So I bought a spaghetti squash on my first Whole 30 shopping trip, but I've never cooked with it before. Any tips and tricks?

Should I cook all of it at once and save the unused bits for later? Does it freeze well after cooking? Or should I just cook as much as I plan to eat and then store the rest to cook later (and if so, what's the best way to store it)?

I'm a really good cook with what I know, but this particular veggie is completely new to me - so thanks for the help!

I have been meaning to try spaghetti squash for a very long time, but never remember to buy it.

http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2008/09/30/eat-your-vegetables-spaghetti-squash/

I imagine you could freeze whatever you don't eat if you aren't apt to leftovers. I would cook it all and then eat off of it until it's gone...that's just how my brain works. It never actually occurs to me to save half of something in case I want to make it into something else. That is not a terrible idea!

Let us know how you like it :)

The link Laura posted above is a good method to cook it. Some recipes call for using more water, and that just doesn't result in a good texture (though I'll admit, I've strained waterlogged, mushy spaghetti squash before to save dinner!) I suspect it wouldn't freeze well, but I've never tried, either. We manage to eat all of one over the course of a week (just me and hubby) - normally it's enough for one dinner and one or two lunches for me. I do recommend seasoning the squash itself well once you cook and pull the strands out, unless you're putting a very flavorful sauce over it. Salt, pepper, and basil is a good combo, depending on what you're eating it with. Good luck! Since I learned to cook it well, I buy one of these gems every week. =)