Karen's Whole30 Log

Kmlynne

The morning of day 1.  A little excited, a little apprehensive.

First, let me introduce myself.  I am first a Daughter of the King.  Secondly I am a mom of two great teenagers.  Thirdly, I am a nightshift NICU nurse.

I have been overweight for just about my entire life.  If you name the "diet", I have been on it.  I have tried different "lifestyle" changes as well.  I am an emotional eater and have the hardest time when I am tired.  I will do well for a bit and then I "fall off the bandwagon".  I freely admit that when I eat well, I feel better.  When I eat poorly, I feel like poo.  I struggle with food allergies - the biggest one being soy.  (Did you know that soy is in practically everything?).  

On Feb 28th of this year, I began the study Made to Crave by Lysa Terkeurst.  It motivated me to go back to eating whole foods.  I did well while I was on the study - losing 28 pounds over 6 weeks.  Since finishing it 2 weeks ago, I have been falling back into bad habits.  I have put back 1.5 pounds.  I know that the weight isn't the end all, be all.  But it is important to me.  The bigger problem is that the "not feeling so hot" feelings are coming back.  I NEED BOUNDARIES!  

I am looking forward to Whole30!  I am looking forward to feeling better!  I am looking forward to feeding my family better!

I have some challenges:  1)night shift work.  2)time to plan and prepare.

I work 4-6 12hour night shifts each week (hopefully this will decrease to 3-4 by the end of June).  When I start a stretch of night shifts, I am up for 24 hours.  When I finish a stretch, I sleep for 24 hours.  I know this wreaks havoc with my body, but it is the best I can do.  When I am in a stretch, I find it difficult to find the time to do big preparations.  I try to get all my daily meals packed in about a 45 min time period just before leaving the house.  Whew.  

My Commitment: