Menopause kicking my arse :)

Candice

Hi Ladies,

I've been dabbling with primal eating since starting Crossfit a year ago. I'm a trainer and lived an athletic life since college so I've always had a "clean" diet. Since the onset of menopause I've had to explore and make changes to my nutrition and everything I've read points to paleo.

My symptoms are pretty low given the horror stories I've heard but I'm mainly afflicted with sleep disruption due to hot flashes ( which are more frequent at night). I also have gained weight ( body fat) even though I'm active and for the most part my diet is good. So I've been playing with carb macros as I have been getting aprox 100 -120 grams day ( from fruit & veg as I eat NO grains). I've read some of the posts and think that I need to get more fat to increase calories whic are normally 1300-1500. Low :(

My thing is that I have such INTENSE cravings at night for carbs (sugar). Fruit is what I go for but I think that's what is sabotaging my fat loss. Ugh. Seems getting ( and staying) asleep is hard enough with the flashes that when I resist the cravings it makes it that much harder.

Anyways, I'd love some feedback from anyone who is in this life stage and tips on succeeding through it without feeling like a washed out sponge bob :)

Cheers,

Candice

Hi Candice,

I am 44 years old and I have been peri-menopausal for several years.

You may want to try making your breakfast and lunch more protein and fat focused. Make dinner more carb focused, but go easy on the fat and protein. I find I sleep better this way. 400mg of magnesium citrate in the evening will help relax you as well.

Hot flashes? Try eliminating caffeine, or restricting your intake to the hours before noon. The only caffeine I take is in my green tea; (the antioxidants seem to buffer the adverse effects) and, of course CHOCOLATE, (but never in the evening). Sugar and alcohol are also problematic (just ignore what I am doing in that picture up there).