almost finished day 5, same symptoms as always

Hello-

This is my first time doing whole30 and I am on day 5 and have had no changes happen. I'm okay with that for now but hoping that things will start to improve. Here's a little history...

I have always had digestive problems since I can remember. I am now 30 years old. I had my gall bladder removed when I was 19 and have been 98% gluten free for over a year now. I am a healthy eater and exercise regularly. Being gluten free has seemed to help about 60% but not as much as I would like.

My symptoms have always included extreme bloating and inflammation (almost immediately following any food or drink), constipation, diarrhea and cramping. Nothing has changed since I started this diet. I have definitely upped my intake of meat and poultry (I was always eating yogurt, beans and grains for protein) and I wonder if it is taking my body some time to adjust to eating so much animal protein. I also wonder if the lack of a gall bladder plays any part in this.

I am considering taking the NOW super enzymes in hopes it will help but any info would be helpful here. I'm going to see the program through regardless but want to get the most out of it.

Thanks!

Laura

I'm not an expert, but I think a lot of people have said it took them a while to have their digestion settle in. Also, I know I've seen a lot of recs for probiotics. You might poke around the Whole 30 with Chronic Illness threads, and see if there's something relevant there -- I know there've been a bunch of threads about various digestive things.

I'm on day 29 and it took until about day 16 or so for my similar digestion issues to start getting better. It's still not perfect, but I suspect that damage done will take more time. I do feel better and I'm not using any of products I used prior to W30 (mirilax..etc). Hang in there! It WILL get better!