NOT SO LIGHT AS A FEATHER!

Ok.

So 3 weeks ago I completed my very 1st Whole30 experience. It was amazing! I literally breezed through the program with a few very minor hiccups as far as feeling the "hangover" or slaying the sugar dragon, etc. I stuck to it religiously and even inspired coworkers and family members to join me on my path to wellness.

I dropped 15 lbs in my 30 days and my clothes were beginning to fit better and as a firefighter, I had ever increasing amounts of energy. I felt amazing!

I had a whole plan set out for when I reached my 30th day and I knew in my mind how I was going to re-enter the real world so to speak. I was going to remain paleo and knew that I never wanted to feel the way I had before I started the Whole30.

Now, let's bring it on back to the real world.

None of which I had planned afterwards has happened.

I have completely gone out of control, worse than I was before I started the Whole30!! I have been eating a ton of fast food, drinking SODA????!! (GASP!!!) going out with friends constantly for happy hour where I find myself over indulging on everything and anything from cheesy artichoke dip and chips to fried tidbits of... stuff. Oh and the alcohol? Don't even go there. I have developed a new, closer relationship with red wine. And vodka. And BEER!! (Another GASP!)

I feel horrible. Not just physically but mentally. I have occasional bouts of depression, nothing I would really call abnormal but it does happen. During my 1st Whole30, I felt such mental clarity and focus, I realized when my whole30 was complete that my depression had lifted. I wasn't spending 2 entire days on the couch with the blinds closed watching TV, doing absolutely nothing. I had energy. I felt full of life and I had the drive to get things done. To MAKE things happen and to progress.