My first Whole30!

GEP91

Today is Day 1 of my first Whole30 ever! I originally planned to do it alone, but my partner volunteered to do it with me as well. This was a great surprise. I assumed if I wanted him to try it it would take a lot of persuading. 

Anyway, a little about me. I'm 23 years old and just finished my first year of graduate school, my second (and final) year officially starts tomorrow. Yikes! I'm a full-time student and currently work part-time. My relationship with food in the past has been kind of rocky. I developed disordered eating habits at a pretty young age and began obsessing with the number on the scale when I was 11 or so. When I left for college, moving away from my diet-obsessed mother helped a lot. I haven't weighed myself since I was 18 and I don't see myself ever going back to doing so. Both my weight and relationship with food was stable throughout undergrad, but upon my senior year I realized I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life anymore and hated the major I had chosen to pay thousands of dollars to learn about. Ultimately, I made the right decision and chose a graduate program that is right for me...but that entire process was really stressful for me and I gained a lot of weight. Then grad school started and my schedule is everything but normal...and I gained more weight. I used to eat much healthier than I do now, and felt much better than I do now. I have fallen into some really bad eating and drinking habits that leave me feeling physically and mentally shitty.