One year, one W47 plus a W85 later I finally feel like a success

LadyM

• Moderators

Though I completed my first W30, a W47, actually, in May 2013, this is my first time writing a success story. So much has happened between my W47 a year ago and the W85 I just completed that I can finally feel like a success even though I still haven't achieved the kind of magic I (falsely) expected when I first decided to give W30 a shot. And that's why I'm writing this. For all the people who begin W30 believing it will be the final magic bullet they've been hoping for but then perhaps find something else different than what they expected.

For me that something else has been far grander than what I could have imagined.

I was one of those people who didn't lose weight and may have even gained some during my first attempt at this. But I came back one year later for another go round because of what it set in motion. Whole 30 has dramatically changed my relationship with food and with my body for the better. This is the dream of all dreams come true, I now realize.

Here's what's changed for me:

1. I eat three meals a day, no snacks, no problem.

2. I no longer suffer from sugar cravings of any kind. No real or fake sugar, fruit, or nuts and nut butters call the siren song.

3. My digestion and elimination are regular and gas is infrequent.

4. Food is not a reward. It doesn't set me on fire, bring me up, or bring me down. Food is food. And I take genuine pleasure in preparing and eating it. I have finally learned the importance, meaning, and practice of savoring food.

5. My mood is stable and I am a nicer person.

6. I have made sleep and stress reduction a priority, and I now sleep the sleep of angels. Every night.

7. My skin is clearer (acne has been a serious problem since puberty).

8. Despite an injury set back, exercise is a regular habit.