Auto-immune Whole 30 nearly completed, but how long to continue?

Hi everyone,

I'm coming to the end of my first whole 30 (currently day 24) I'm doing the auto-immune version, so I have cut eggs, nuts, and all nightshades as suggested.  But reading online it suggests that the auto-immune should be done for 6-90 days, so should I just keep going until 90 days? or is there anything I could re-introduce to make things a bit easier?

As a family we won't be going back on dairy and will still not eat potatoes etc, but nuts are handy for snacking and eggs go into most things!! along with almond flour..

I am not an expert. My questions would be Do you notice any difference? Are you feeling great and ready to start the reintro phase? If not you may want to continue for 60 days. Congratulations on making it 30 days without eggs. I only did it for 8 days.

If you choose to intro eggs I would make sure I got pastured eggs that are not fed soy, corn, etc. You might want to try eggs yolk first, I understand people react to the yolks less than the whites. Check out the paleo mom for more info about AIP. Good luck!

• Moderators

If you don't know already that you are sensitive to eggs, you might try reintroducing them now. And as Tina noted, many people are less sensitive to yolks than whites. You could make mayonnaise with egg yolks only and see how it goes. If that goes well, you might make it with whole eggs and see how that goes. I use mayonnaise frequently to make salmon, tuna, and chicken salad. 

The Paleo Approach suggests that you follow AIP until you see considerable improvement in your autoimmune disease. You can reintroduce egg yolks earlier though because they are so nutritious and have a very low chance of sensitivity. 

As everyone said, I'd also try to reintro egg yolks. Mostly bc I love mayo and having that as an option makes AIP doable for a longer stretch. I use Paleo Mom's recipe with coconut oil.