Applegate Farms Sunday Bacon

April Greer-Boyd

I've been eating paleo/primal at a rate of about 80/20 for the last 2 years. Monday I plan on doing my first Whole 30. I've been eating this bacon pretty regularly.

I plan to limit my bacon during my W30 to just the weekends unless a recipe calls for some just as a complimentary ingredient. I've never had the US Wellness bacon and wanted to order it but it's been out of stock. Does the "less than 2% evaporated cane syrup" make it off limits?

I don't know - this is where I am confused. I have been eating Applegate Sunday bacon. While there may be some sugar in the brining process, it amounts to 0g of sugars and 0g of carbs on the label. That means it really is a negligible amount, right? Almost nothing. When you weigh that against the fact that other non-sugar brands of bacon (like the fore-mentioned one from Costco) do not come from pastured or organic sources, it seems like the overall best bet is to go with the Applegate. Right? Can a moderator weigh in on this? Maybe the answer will be that bacon is not acceptable on the Whole 30, in which case I'll have to start over :(, but it seems like the organic (and according to my allergy research non-grain fed) brand is the best all around choice.

jotartare, I was having that same internal conflict with the no sugar bacon I got at BJs. While I respect BJ's as a company, I don't necessarily trust their farming practices. It was my understanding that all of the bad stuff in animals that eat grains is in their fat making bacon pretty potent. I would think the sugar would be the lesser of the two evils.

I think US Wellness is out because they were running a special the other day.

I abstained from bacon during my Whole 30 because I could not find an uncured, no-sugar, no-other crap bacon. Today is my last day and I'm really looking forward to having my favorite bacon on Sunday. Coleman's uncured bacon!