Nuts about nuts!!

Hi there, I've been eating primal for a few months now, with a noticeable difference at the beginning and now plateauing out. I'm not great at moderation with nuts....just a few more...has anyone got any tips on limiting, eliminating or how they manage the numbers of nuts you eat??

Thanks in advance

Di

I don't keep nut butters in the house. I get individual serving size bags of almonds from TJ's. Unsalted raw sunflower seeds can be roasted then ground up for sunshine sauce in my Vitamix but don't tempt me for a snack. For other nuts I buy a few ounces at a time from the bulk dept at whole foods so I can only binge on a little if I go crazy one day. That's how I try to control it. I also buy dried fruit from bulk dept because they can be a trigger to binge. I really don't need a lb of mission figs sitting around calling my name.

Good luck!

Dividing them up into small baggy's might be worth a shot. You could wrap each nut in tinfoil....by the time you had unwrapped 10, you'd be so fed up getting the tinfoil off you wouldnt want any more :D

I have a big bag of hazelnuts and macadamia nuts in my desk drawer....knowing how expensive they are makes me ration them fairly well.

Thanks for your kind suggestions, I did have a chuckle at the tin foil one!! I buy my nuts in bulk, activate them all at once and dry out, this process takes 2-3 days so I do a lot at a time to save me time. I think I'll first try and have none for a week, as it seems I'm much worse when I start having some earlier in the day, then I will go the prepackaged days worth!!

Yes they are awfully expensive but if you're getting good ones it's worth it. Especially if you activate them, if you're not doing this the taste difference is amazing and easier to digest all the goodness out of them.

I wonder if you buy them whole with shells on whether they need activating? Must ask that question.

Also glad to hear I'm not the only person crazy on nuts!