Day 5 and a skin issue...

Hi all,

I'm very new to this whole thing and I am doing pretty well so far. I've had headaches and did the total crabby weepy thing on day 4, but otherwise detox not too bad. BUT starting yesterday and worse today on day 5...The skin on my face is cracked and hurts!! The edges of my mouth have totally cracked and sting. This has never happened to me. Ever. Not even in the dead of winter. I'm hoping you'll all laugh and tell me this is a normal result of excluding something from my diet. Right??

I'm a cancer survivor with auto-immune disease and have been vegan and dairy-free before. Never had this!

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Alex

• Moderators

Sorry. There is nothing normal about what you are describing. It MIGHT have something to do with your diet, but cracking skin is nothing I've heard of before. However, post a report of several days of what you have been eating and drinking so we can see if we notice anything.

Are you eating anything that is new to your diet? Or eating a lot more of something that you rarely ate before? Cracking skin is not a typical allergic response I am familiar with, but that is something to consider/

Ok thanks...

My food yesterday:

Breakfast, 2 hard boiled eggs, organic kraut and 1/4 avocado

Lunch: steamed broccoli and mushrooms with turkey breast (i roasted with olive oil, salt, pepper, oregano). Put a little olive oil and salt on the veg when they were warm.

Snack: 1/4 cup of cashews and 5 strawberries

Dinner: Chicken breast with basil and tomatoes (all organic from the farmers market. Not new to me) with baked sweet potato and asparagus

After dinner snack: about 1 cup of strawberries.

None of these foods are new to me. I'm a big grain eater, so without quinoa or polenta or brown rice this is a challenge. And I also eat a lot of beans, so none of those. No hummus.

The other days have been similar. Substitute type of veg, or sub tuna for chicken, etc.