How to stay away when the cravings kick in...

Dinho7

Hello all! 

I am a 25 year old European living in Florida. I have been eating pretty bad since I left home to study when I was 18, and I am now preparing for a Whole30 diet starting August 1. I am almost done reading the "It starts with food" book - a very good read.

My main problem is that I dont have the willpower to resist the urge of bad foods. The power sugar, salt and fat have over me is unbelieveable.

I know a lot about what to eat and what not to put in my mouth

I am an expert in reading food labels

I KNOW that I should not eat that chocolate, order that pizza, or drink that soda. But still, I do. And then I feel like crap afterwards. Until the cycle repeats over and over again.

Luckily i am relatively healthy. I have maybe 2-4 pounds that I would like to get rid of. No big deal. But after reading the book I know that I can greatly improve my mood and energy as well. And I might be able to help a lot of members of my family who are struggling with different health related issues.

First I need to get there myself. I think I can make it. I am not a good cook, I am lazy and the people around me (friends and family) eat their share of unhealthy foods, which doesnt help a weak dude with no willpower like myself. But I know that the month of August can be extremely valueable if I can pull it of.

How do you guys deal with cravings? Its especially when I am at home in the evening/night that the cravings kick in. If I am busy outside the house, I barely eat. But when I am at home (where I study and work), I have cravings all the time. 

Any tips and suggestions would be very much appreciated :) This forum looks amazing!

Hi Dinho,