Help me fuel my workouts

LindsayRunsFast

I am VERY new to this way of eating. I have tried it a little in the last but always felt bad. I started the Whole30 today and am committed to this. But I am training for a full marathon in November. I want to make sure I continue to feel well during my runs. Please help me figure out when I need to eat extra carbs and when I don't. I understand a lot is by how I feel but I at least need a starting point.

3 days - shorter run (generally right an hour or under)

2 days - yoga and weight lifting

1 day - long run (getting up to 13+ miles)

Rest day.

What should I be eating carb wise on these days. Also WHEN should I eat them? Pre run? Post run? Thanks!

• Moderators

If you are lean, you would probably benefit from eating carbs with every post-workout meal - running and yoga/weight lifting. An ideal post-workout meal is chicken breast and a baked sweet potato. The idea is lean protein and a good carb source, but little or no fat.

If you are not lean and you are trying to lose weight, you can omit carbs from your post-workout meals. You might feel a little less peppy, but probably not much. I stopped eating post-workout carbs without noticing much change, but I am a blunt instrument.

Your activity level is high enough that it would not hurt you to eat carbs every day. You don't eat carbs to fuel a workout, so you should not eat them as a pre-workout meal. Pre-workout meals are meant to signal your system to release some energy for work. These should include protein and a little fat. A few boiled eggs are a good pre-workout meal.

I often eat baked sweet potatoes at supper and I do my workouts at noon. That's what works for me, but your experience may be different.