Canned broth? (and pork rinds!)

kirdyq

I am a newbie...I am starting my very first Whole30 on September 1!  I am excited to see what is in store. 

I subscribe to an online meal planning service called 5 dinners in 1 hour.  I work full time and have two little kids, and I have to say that it has been a total lifesaver.  Anyway, they offer a Paleo plan, which up til now I have never even looked at.  I just opened it up, in anticipation of the weekly grocery haul this weekend.

THere are a few questionable items on there I wanted some advice on.  First, is it ok to use canned broths?  There are some recipes using chicken and beef broth.  What do I need to look out for when getting those?

Second, they had a meatloaf recipe that seemed to be compliant, until I read "pork rinds."  Hmmm...really?  I am thinking those are probably not ok!  And I don't know if I'd want them anyhow...lol.

Last, there was a mashed cauliflower recipe where you just mash it with sea salt and almond milk.  Am I remembering correctly that almonds are NOT legumes and so this would be ok?  I know that soy milk would not be.  If I need something "milk-like" for a recipe, is almond milk my best bet? 

I'd be concerned about the canned broths and almond milk because almost all commercial varieties have additives that aren't Whole30 compliant.

I thought I was paranoid about food labels before doing my first Whole30, but Whole30 has escalated it to a whole different level.  There are So Many Additives.  :/

Canned or boxed broths you have to be careful with.  Maybe call and ask for ingredients lists?

Almond milk I am afraid is out - unless it was homemade.  Most store bought almond milks contain carrageen - a pretty serious gut disruptor.