first whole 30 -- how am i doing?

browntown

this is my first whole 30. for most of 2011 and 2012 i followed a paleo diet (i used cheat days, usually one every week) but i was in school during that time and had loads of free time to exercise (both strength train and i played recreational and league racquetball). before starting a paleo style diet i was 280lbs (5'10 male) when i graduated in 2012 i was down to roughly 220lbs *yay me*. however since then, i obtained a full time desk job that requires extensive travel (out of town for entire week) for 80% of the year (but i love my job, right now at least). that being said, it was difficult to keep a regular exercise regimen, i cannot remember the last time i was in the gym. I still go on regular walks. travelling all the time meant eating out all the time, i did not make bad decisions 90% of the time, salads, lean cuts of meats, veggies, no desserts, and yes, i love bourbon and tequila. bourbon was my only non-paleo vice during my paleo days in 2011 and 2012. additionally, my job goes through several busy periods during the year which normally resulted in stress eating (started as healthy snacks like almonds and carrots and fruit but then turned into junk food quite rapidly, the only thing i held onto from my paleo days was remaining gluten free 90% of the time.) since starting this job in April 2012 i am back up in weight to around 250lbs and feel miserable, more so that i know how much hard work and time it took to get down to 220lbs, and because i do not have a regular exercise regimen that i love anymore. i am hoping my whole30 will help me regain touch with my paleo ways and help provide some extra motivation, now that my body is able to function more effectively and efficiently, to get back into a regular exercise program.