Whole 30 completed - the good and the bad

sknapp

I finished my first Whole30 about six days ago. I had been eating mostly Primal for about the last 18 months, so it wasn't a completely new way of life. The Whole30 is definitely more strict than Primal, however, and I'm glad as it gave me the opportunity to try giving up dairy, alcohol and caffeine -- even though caffeine wasn't necessary, I gave it up cold turkey on Day 1.

So, here's the good: I feel more enegetic than I've felt in the past. My allergies seem to be better, and I can actually wake up in the morning on my own, even before my 3-year-old daughter bounces on the bed and forces me up! I am often the first person awake, actually, which would shock everyone who has ever known me -- I've never been a morning person. At all!

I've been feeling healthier, and finally felt like I could add some exercise during the last couple weeks without feeling wiped out. Prior to finding Primal/Paleo, whenever I tried to exercise I would give up after a few weeks b/c I just felt exhausted. Now, I feel like I'm eating enough protein to sustain myself, so I've added in brisk walks about 5 days per week, and some strength training 2 days per week (the Primal Blueprint fitness plan of pull-ups, squats, push-ups and planks...all modified to the very beginning stages). I plan to add weekly sprints in sometime over the next week or two.