Grad Student Whole30 Challenge

lkibsy

Hey Everyone - My name is Lauren and I am currently a grad student studying in NYC. With the stress of school and living in a new country away from friends and family (I'm Canadian), felt that my diet has been suffering. I have been primal/paleo off and on for the past 3 years. Figured it was time to clean up my diet and really support a healthy lifestyle while going through this change and period of stress.

My first day was a little wonky as I was not as prepared as I should have been. Woke up and went to the gym this morning (fasting) worked out and then went and got groceries. By the time I got home at 12pm, I was ravenous so I just had a small apple and some raisons to tide me over until lunch was ready!

So here is my breakdown of meals for the day:

Snack: Piece of bacon, gala apple, raisons

Lunch: Sage Bison Burger with Balsamic, Bacon, and Apple Chutney with some sweet potato

Dinner: Mashed sweet potato with spices and a few raisons & Opti-Cleanse GHI Smoothie (prescribed by doc-13g protein) with a banana and a 1/4 of coconut milk

Drinks: Hot lemon water and just plain water

Felt very satisfied after each meal. Although I feel like dinner was a little too much, so will cut down going forward.

post-54166-0-14622200-1412548633_thumb.j

Well on day two and feeling great! Felt very satisfied after all of my meals today AND I tried a new vegetable that I have never had before and loved it! Yay for parsnips!

Here is what my day looked like:

Breakfast - Opti-Cleanse GHI with a banana and 1/4cup of coconut milk

Lunch - Sage bison burgers with balsamic, bacon, apple chutney with butternut squash puree and an apple

Pre-Dinner Snack (I was ravenous and dinner was going to take an hour to cook!): Mashed sweet potato with cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger with a few raisons.

Dinner: Chicken drumstick and wing with roasted parsnips and carrots. The veggies were so good, I had to have another helping!