feeding window

mikew9

Hi everyone,

I am new to whole30 and I'm at day 13 now.

It really feels great!

I do have a question:

My timing is:

12.00 breakfast

16.00 lunch

20.00 dinner

I follow my timetable very strict with 30 min space.

I do workout at my crossfit box but no pre or post workout meals for me. If im hungry I just wait for the next meal so nothing in between as snack.

What do you guys think?

Mike

• Moderators

Limiting your eating to an 8 hour window is technically compliant with the Whole30 rules, but your practice is far from the intent of the Whole30. Delaying breakfast beyond one hour of waking in the morning sets you up for adverse hormonal rhythm issues and not eating post-workout meals slows muscle recovery. The typical reason for following such a timing plan is to maximize leanness and to develop visible abs. It seems to work best for young men, but many others suffer problems with sleep, mood, and intense cravings when practicing this approach. 

We recommend that no one who has not been eating Whole30-style for at least one year and is not already in excellent health experiment with this approach to eating. I followed this plan myself for 3 months about 2 years ago. I found it comfortable and easy to sustain. I stopped because my sleep became troubled and I found it difficult to stay asleep at night longer than 6-7 hours. Instead of getting leaner, my sleep problems led to my getting puffier. I went back to eating breakfast early in the morning and my sleep improved markedly within a little over a week. 

Thanks for the replies.

I indeed thought it was compliant with whole30.

My WODs are around 17.30 or 18.45. So i do eat after my workouts but not directly. Also, its a bit of convenience in the morning to not eat due to 2 kids and getting them ready.

I do feel a bit if hunger everyday but have not experienced a lack of sleep. And if i do feel it its the kids :)