RangerAJ's Whole 30 Blog

RangerAJ

Well....today is a new day,,,and a new year.

At the age of 47 I have decided to do better by me.  I am a nice guy,,,and I think I should expect more from my health/life/diet decisions.

I feel like I have battling the bulge my entire adult life.  I have always enjoyed food.  The WRONG foods at that!

As a Law Enforcement Officer, I am required to keep certain physical standards.  Over the past couple of years, that has faultered.

My laziness I have blamed on my allergies, along with my weight gain too.

Today I clocked in at 207 lbs.  At 5'6" I don't like the look or sound of that number.

My parents had heart issues, and my father was a severe diabetic.  They both left too early in my opinion.

It is my goal to be there for my husband, and enjoy a great retirement someday.

An officer I know (and his wife) live by the paleo principles.  Youth aside, he is in fantastic shape, and holistically is on top of the world.  Of course I want some of that! 

He introduced me to Whole30, and gave me a slight push.  I contacted him over Thanksgiving and told him "enough was enough, and I am tired of being tired, and feeling sick, and looking horrible".  I comitted then to do a Whole30 program at the start of the new year.

And.... Here we are!

With little -to-no prep I am on my way.

Coffee without a creamer did not kill me,,,,, Hows that for encouragement first thing in the morning!

AJ

Hi AJ! I look forward to following you on your journey over the next 30 days. As I discovered in the past, this is a very supportive environment and has helped me immensely. I'm sure it will do the same for you! 

Shelley :)

Day 1 done!!

Gonna take a bit to get a hang of new eating pattern.  I am so locked into starch and carbs!

Meals for day 1~

Breakfast - cup of black coffee, 3 eggs, 6 slices chicken deli meat  (juiced 3 apples for snack, as they were doing nothing in the fridge.)