Day 5: are there other things in life to think and dream about besides food? :)

meshello

Today is day 5 of my third Whole30.

I feel pretty good, even went for a hike this morning with my dog.  Today was the first day back to school for my daughter and i did for a moment want to kill all the things, but it passed 

I have beef/lamb stock on the stove, curried broccoli soup i made last night waiting for lunch, and found myself on my hike thinking about what i will make for dinner…and i realized that when you really pay attention and focus on only putting excellent foods into your body, you actually have to pay attention and focus.  I know this gets easier but right now i feel like i am either in my kitchen or thinking about what to do once i am in my kitchen 24/7…This is not a complaint, as a chef, i actually enjoy it very much, its just mind boggling at how much it takes over one's thoughts in the beginning...

last night i dreamt that i was with a friend and was hungry, we drove to this burger shack down the road (that doesn't really exist) and i was stoked to see that an old friend that i hadn't seen in years was the owner.  Since she was an old friend, i didn't feel weird asking her to make me a burger on a salad, no dressing and what exactly did she put in the burger patty? :)

She seemed really eager to meet my needs and delivered me a plate of food that seemingly looked exactly like what i had asked for with the addition of a side of fries.  IN MY DREAM i remember having the thought…oh potatoes are compliant and i shove a mouthful into my mouth and at that moment i could taste the yucky oil they were fried in and i spit them out…HA!