Caramel Color???

nikki5577

• 2 weeks later...
  • Administrators

It's possible that when Renee posted in 2013, she made an error. It happens.

A quick google search agrees with Tom's note that the coloring is made from sugar, therefore not compliant: Caramel is produced from commercially available nutritive sweeteners consisting of fructosedextrose (glucose), invert sugarsucrosemalt syrupmolasses, starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof. 

• Moderators

Sorry for the confusion. The answer is no, that is a sneaky sweetener.

Caramel coloring is sugar. It is unclear what organic natural flavor is, but I would not worry about that. 

Finding compliant broth is very difficult. The Imagine brand has had several varieties, but most of their broths include sugar, so you have to check the labels on any package you buy.

Sugar is added to foods to improve the taste of cheap quality ingredients. I used to work in the grocery business, so I occasionally examine most products in a section of a store. What I have noticed is that you often have to pay more for higher quality foods to get something without added sugar. What that means is that vendors are adding the sugar to lower quality foods to make the taste more competitive with the better stuff. 

Yes, as Tom said it doesn't sound like real balsamic at all. I'm afraid caramel colour is made from some kind of sweetener, sucrose, dextrose, fructose, molasses etc. There are also 4 types of caramel colour. The one most commonly used in vinegars is called E150b over here and is caustic sulfite caramel, so the sulfites give you a double whammy.