Sex with Pants II

Muddy

Hello Whole30 Land! You're all crazy, but I like you anyway.

I am no expert or moderator, but I have developed a three-pronged approach to determining if a food is Sex With Pants and I thought I'd share. Anyone can feel free to correct/update this, but this is easier for me than figuring out the emotional/psychological underpinnings of a certain food prepared with a certain methodology, which just seems all kinds of shades of gray.

If a food is made with compliant ingredients, it is SWYPO if:

1.) You cannot reasonably add other foods to it to put it into the W30 template  protein-veggie-fat ratio (Palm-plate-thumbs or, say, 2:4:1). In this ratio system, fruits are accents. So, in order to make an egg-banana pancake into a ratio meal, you'd have to add another 4 eggs, three meals worth of vegetables, and a fat. Good luck with that.

2.) It feels like you're dry-humping. Let's be real about those pancakes, and I've had my share bc I've been off gluten for years...They kinda blow. You know what else kinda blows? Those muffins with arrowroot powder. Yech. Not good food.

3.) It brings you farther away from, rather than closer to, skills you'll need to cook real food sustainably in your life. It is possible that you could add a fake-flour muffin into a template meal - as an accent piece, contributing fat and part of an egg But, you probably already knew how to make a muffin with flour - learn something new.

What I'm saying is that, yesterday, I made spaghetti squash with compliant marinara meat sauce and some kalamatas and, even though spaghetti has probably my favorite comfort food my whole life, I 100% would not consider this meal SWYPO, because it's ratio-perfect, it's DELICIOUS, and cooking spaghetti squash and finding sugarless sauce are all skillz.