Making fermented foods at home

SusanB.

Search is coming up with some sauerkraut recipes, but not much else.

I've had a sensitive gut ever since a bout of food poisoning 4+ years ago now - haven't been the same since. The only thing that has helped seems to be probiotics.

I'd like to incorporate some fermented foods into my cooking repertoire - are there 30-compliant recipes that people would suggest for first-time fermenters?

• Moderators

I'm still new at the fermenting thing, but I've found that I love fermented onions -- which surprised the heck out of me, since I don't care for raw onions. But fermented, the flavor mellows, and they're good in salads or just by themselves. I used this basic recipe, but added more salt and skipped the brine/whey, and then fermented for several weeks. Maybe even a month? I can't remember now.

If you're on Facebook, I highly recommend checking out the Wild Fermentation group. They've posted tons of recipes, and are very helpful if you have questions. They focus on not using whey for fermenting, that's what the "wild" part refers to. Not all their ferments are Whole30 compliant, but many of them are. 

Fermented onions? Fascinating! I'm warming up to onions slowly - I've always substituted shallots, garlic, and leeks in my cooking. But lately if they're cooked just right I can find them yummy. Since you say that you don't like them raw either, maybe I should give that a go.

Thanks for the link to the FB group. I'll check them out.

• Moderators