Battling the Dragons, how do you do it?

I'm on Day 12 and everything has been going great. Today, my school cafeteria (I'm a teacher and I usually eat lunch at school) is serving pasta alfredo. This is killing me right now. It's all I can think about and suddenly my Whole30 compliant lunch that I brought from home (grass fed steak, celery root puree and sauteed cabbage) sounds completely unappetizing. All I want is some creamy, garlicky, cheesy pasta. This is my second whole30 and I have never had a dragon rear it's ugly head as passionately as the dragon before me right now. This is why we have the whole30, right? To overcome this unhealthy relationship with food. I know this, but it's not helping right now (although it usually does). How do you get through these moments?

• Administrators

Hi Vicky,

You might do well to add more starchy veggies (at least one serving a day of sweet potato, potato, winter squash, rutabaga, beets, carrots) and extra fat to your meal.  Fat is what brings flavour and satiation and the starchy veggies help with your "need carbs!" feeling.

You can also remember why you are doing this, even write a list and keep it with you so that you are reminded at times when you are feeling troubled over desires or cravings.

YOU are worth more than cafeteria alfredo, friend.  You are worth the effort and self respect to keep on with what you have chosen to do!

Is there anyway you can distract yourself with a non-food reward?

Think: buying a magazine.  Taking a luxurious bubble bath.  Do your nails?  Find something that really interests you.  Sometimes a walk around Michaels arts and crafts store will get me out of a funk and get my brain thinking about crafty things again.