Confused reading all the posts…

Hi,  I'm a newbie only on day 4.  I have a  few questions:  One is how many potatoes (sweet and white) should we have weekly?  Same question with fruit.  Can I have some daily with my meal?  How many meals?  After reading several posts where people are having sweet potato fries/chips, snacks, smoothies, and fruit several times a day, I'm confused!  I thought we ate 3 meals period, and were not supposed to eat snacks unless working out more than 20 minutes, and not eat things like fries/chips with our meals.  I like only a very few veggies so adding potatoes or fruit to at least a meal a day really sounds great to me.  I'm guessing my husband should be eating a lot more than me as he goes through this?  So how many eggs is too many for breakfast or whenever?   Thanks!!! :)

• Administrators

Hooboy.  ;)

You are right, the goal is to create meals that are large enough to sustain you for 4-5 hours without having to snack.  "Snacking" as we commonly know it is discouraged but if you are hungry, please eat.  Our recommendation is a mini meal of at least protein and fat but ideally also veggies.

Sweet potatoes (and white and all the other starchy carbs) is a personal decision.  The starting recommendation for most is one serving a day (serving being fist sized), more if you are highly active, more if you're feeling low and crappy, more if you are a woman leading up to her period, less if you are not active, less if you have a lot of excess weight to lose.  

Fruit is not discouraged at all, the recommendation is 1-2 pieces per day, always eaten with a regular meal, not on its own.

Smoothies are in fact discouraged.  Not against the RULES, but not in line with giving yourself optimal results.  Any food that you drink is less valuable to your body than food you chew.  Also, smoothies are fruit heavy.