Cottagequeen's CQI

cottagequeen

So a friend asked me on facebook after a post I had made about slaying a sugar dragon and stress dragon at work yesterday, what else I had gained from Whole30, other than weight loss. Thru tears I shared my success. Opening up and sharing is hard for me, but I know it will benefit me. Here is my response:

"My health, physically, mentally and emotionally. Before I did my very first whole30 back in April, I was struggling with depression, my life was a disaster, mentally, emotionally and physically. I was too tired to do anything. I didn't sleep well, when I'd go to bed, I would smear herbals over my chest because I not only had a hard time breathing, I could hear the fine crackles and wheezing in my chest. I would get short of breath walking into work. Being a Respiratory Therapist, I knew what was going on, inflammation. I didn't care about food, just hit the fast food, if they had a drive thru or delivered I'd eat it. I'd buy groceries, good food, it would waste away in the fridge and I would have to throw it out. I had a major candida infection, the itch was so bad I would scratch til I bled. I was taking all kinds of supplements to try to offset my lousy food choices. I was beating myself up because I knew that my food choices were killing me and I couldn't break them. My blood pressure was borderline high, I have no idea what my blood work looked like, I'm sure if I had it checked the doc would have prescribed a bunch of meds for me. Like any addict, I was headed down, my house was a wreck, my health was crashing, my job was on the line, my relationships were flailing, and esp. my relationship with God. I could barely pray. The first go round, I completed 60 days and everything I described got better, many 100% better. After the 60 days, I started a trial of the things I had omitted. I really hadn't missed any of them, but was mostly curious. My raw milk didn't bother me, stevia didn't, but when I trialed legumes, bam, they did