running a race and fueling

beatakf

I am on week 2 of whole 30 and I feel great, I think my runs are suffering a little bit, but I am hoping that will change over time as my body gets used to this type of eating. I have my second half marathon this weekend and I am not sure if I can do it without fueling with gels and gatorade they provide on the course. Do I bring my own coconut water for electrolytes? Do you think if I bring fruit pouches and lara bars I will be ok? If I do have gels on this race how bad of a setback will this be? since I am new to running and this is my second half, I am still trying to figure things out and this eating paleo makes it so much harder.

• Moderators

Hi Beatakf,

I would discourage you from eating fruit and larabars during your run, they can cause serious stomach distress even if even you haven't had trouble before. Find some compliant sweet potato baby food pouches. You really shouldn't need any electrolytes for a half marathon, but bring coconut water if you like.

You are on week 2, and your body is furiously working to switch from sugar burner to fat burner. This is a big transition. Please set your expectations for your race accordingly.

Gels are obviously not Whole30 compliant. Please note: Even if you decide this race is more important to you than staying on your Whole30, using gels probably won't work as well as you think they will, because your body is already well into in the process of transitioning to fat burning. So mull it over before you decide. And either way, be gentle with yourself. I know you want to set a brand new PR. I hope you will! But if you don't, please don't be discouraged.

Speaking from a FODMAP perspective, avoid the apples! They are high fructose, which can cause gas and bloating especially with exercise as that can increase gut motility. Same goes for dates in the Lara bars, as well as many nuts found in Lara bars. I bloat something terrible if I eat those foods.   :(