Eggplant ideas?

leiadowns

• Administrators

If you want something a bit more out of the ordinary, google "Imam Bayildi". It's a turkish eggplant dish. Some recipes might not be Whole30 compliant but just click around, you can certainly find lots of variations that are.

I'm a very basic cook.  :D

Roast or grill it.

grilled-eggplant-pasta-seasoning.jpg

Instructions

grilled-eggplant.jpg

1. Heat the Oven: Preheat oven to 400°F.

2. Prepare the Eggplant: Cut the stem end and bottom off the eggplant, then cut it in half lengthwise. Score the flesh with a knife, cutting deep into the flesh but not through the skin. 

3. Brush with Oil: Brush the eggplant flesh with  Whole 30  compliant oil and put it face-down on a baking sheet.

4. Roast the Eggplant: Roast for 35-40 minutes, or until the back of the eggplant looks collapsed and puckered.

5. Let the Eggplant Cool: Let the eggplant cool for 10 minutes, then season with salt and pepper. It can be scooped out of the peel for use in dips, or eaten plain with its antioxidant-rich peel and a sprinkle of lemon juice.

Or you can slice,  oil both sides and grill on low  - simple, quick and easy or (lengthwise, too)

fc87de049-02_xlg.jpg

grilled-eggplants1.jpg

Pressed for time,  oil and grill whole

8385822d51b64b568a57191cac2b79de4dClrd.J

• Moderators

I second Shannon's recommendations.

The Italian Sausage and Eggplant Strata is CRAZY GOOD. Especially if you make it ahead a day or two and let the flavors meld as recommended in the recipe.

This Baba Ganoush is good.  Or if you'd prefer something with a more eggplant parmesan type flavor, maybe this Italian Sausage and Eggplant Strata

• Administrators

I second Shannon's recommendations.

The Italian Sausage and Eggplant Strata is CRAZY GOOD. Especially if you make it ahead a day or two and let the flavors meld as recommended in the recipe.

Agree, that is the first recipe that taught me that I don't hate eggplant!  :)