Tori's First Whole30 - 9/1/12

PaleoTori

Hi everyone,

My friend Ronnie told me that a good way to stay on track is to log my food here. So I'm going to listen to her wise voice.

Breakfast: 4 eggs scrambled in coconut oil, with 1 small white onion diced up and cooked in the eggs, and 1 banana on the side.

Lunch: handful of green grapes, stuffed green bell pepper (stuffed with ground beef cooked with diced onions in olive oil) seasoned with cayenne pepper. Half a spoonful of sunflower seed spread.

I just realized that maybe I should wait until the day is over to log all of my food. Unless there's an edit button...wait, that still doesn't work very well. Any advice on how to log food? Should I do it at the end of the day?

A little history: I've been eating "Paleo" for about 6 months now. At first I didn't know there was a term for the way I ate. I just decided I wanted to start eating whole foods and cut out any processed foods, because it seemed like the right thing to do. Then I found out it's called "paleo" and I started to research this way of eating and learned A LOT. I cut out beans, rice, and stuff like quinoa and chia seeds. I used to think those items were Paleo and very healthy for me.

I have a long history with anxiety and some depression. I believe a lot of it is due to my eating patterns. When I was young I used food to cope with stress, and there was a lot of stress in my life. I've had an unhealthy relationship with food for most of my life, and eating strict Paleo seems to be the only way for me to make it a healthy one. I swear it's changed my life.

So I've been eating this way for awhile, but I've also been sneaking in a donut here and there, or a slice of pizza once in awhile. My husband eats terribly so it's hard for me to stay on track sometimes.

Anyhow, I'm done rambling. Thanks for reading and good luck to everyone! I just had my wisdom teeth out and I'm pretty out of it from the meds, so forgive my pointless ramblings.

- Tori