I just sprained my ankle bad. HELP!

swordchick

Hi fellow Whole 30 athletes, hoping y'all can help me strategize.

I have been living the Whole 9 life since February 2014, with several Whole 30s, 45s, 21s and very clean eating in between. Just finished up a Whole Lent and getting ready to start a 21 on next Monday! I had great results at first and finally figured out how best to fuel my workouts still adhering to Whole 30 principles. I lift and do crossfit 6x/week, and my performance since January has REALLY improved since I finally dialed in the timing of my macronutrient consumption and stopped fearing carbs.

I got a bad ankle sprain yesterday (getting out of my son's bunk bed, not working out lol), and I can't train. I am actually completely non weight bearing at this point and can't work for a couple days. I'm a physical therapist and health coach, and I'm on my feet all day long usually.

I really want to maintain my body composition as much as possible while recovering, while still giving my body what it needs to heal.

I'm wondering if people could weigh in on their personal experiences on recovering from injury while on Whole 30. TIA.

As a fellow Certified Health and Wellness Coach, I would advise allowing your ankle to heal and keep nourishing it with good food, hydration, and sleep hygiene. If you crave a workout, focus on upper body or core work you can do while lying or sitting.