Janine's Whole30 Log

Janine Costanzo

I've been eating mostly Paleo for about 4 months now. I've been gluten-free for all of that time, and other grains- and legumes-free for about the last month of that time (I did cheat during my birthday in July, though).

I haven't cut out added sugars or dairy yet, though I did stop drinking milk. Cheese, on the other hand...I love cheese. :)

And I do go out to eat a lot, so I'm sure I eat lots of stuff I shouldn't eat in the food I order, even if it seems okay on the surface (cooked in soybean oil, sugars in sauces and dressings, etc.).

A side effect of doing the Whole30 will be that I don't go out to eat nearly as much, since thinking about how difficult it'll be to keep to the plan at restaurants is very daunting. Especially since I eat at ethnic restaurants a lot (Mexican, Thai, Indian, Vietamese, etc.), where asking questions about how the food is prepared can be difficult due to the language barrier. I'm looking forward to saving money, even if it does mean I have to think about preparing lunch to bring to work with me.

My other Whole30 goals/desires:

1. I want to lose the small amount of fat that I have around my midsection (i.e. the lovehandles and the belly), or at least decrease it.

2. I want to learn to slow down when eating so I have time to feel full, and not get seconds just because I want more (as opposed to still being hungry).

3. I'm hoping that maybe my chronic neck, shoulder, and upper back pain will lessen during this program.

4. I want to wake up more easily and not be so tired in the mornings.

4. I want to experiment with new recipes and learn to cook more delcious, healthy things!

-----------

Anyway, today was my first day of the Whole30! Here's what I ate:

* Brunch (I wasn't awake at breakfast) - Three scrambled, pastured eggs topped with mushrooms and onions cooked in olive oil. Sun-dried tomato chicken sausage, avocado, and raspberries on the side.